ITEAD Studio Reviews

Before you order your circuit boards, visit our PCB Price Calculator. You can enter the size, layers, and quantity of your board and get prices from 29 different PCB manufacturers instantly.

Visit ITEAD Studio.

There are 8 reviews with an average rating of 4.6.  

To ensure high-quality reviews and ratings, we moderate every review. To write a review, you must include a valid e-mail address. We will not post your e-mail address, and we will never give it to anyone else or use it to spam you. We might send you an e-mail to verify the information in your review.

Click here to write your review.

Submit your review
* Required Field

ITEAD Studio SKU UPC Model

Boards and Assembly

Jun 01, 2016 by C MHoover

I had 20 5\" x 6\" boards fabricated and assembled. ITEAD procured the components according to my BOM. They were not the cheapest but they gave me a feeling of competence. They questioned a couple of components, but eventually came up with the exact manufacturer and part number from the BOM. Unfortunately it took over a month for them to get all the parts. I had regular email contact with a very nice lady whose English was very good. When the boards arrived they were perfect in every way. The only issue, which I discussed with their lady, Sophia, is that they seldom update their status page. Even when Sophia told me that they were waiting on parts, it said \"Waiting for reply\" from me! I will use the again!


Sep 29, 2015 by Calandri

I've ordered from itead studio probably 5 times when I was in AU, always good and almost in perfect time.

I've ordered a lot of boards and they are always consistently great

Jun 30, 2015 by Alan

I've ordered from itead studio probably 15 times over the last few years and their boards are always consistent and work great. They sometimes throw in an extra board too which is nice.

WAY better than they claim, intelligent engineers

Jun 15, 2015 by Adam

[updated 15-Jun, see last paragraph]

I just sent a run of \"torture boards\" to all the cheap board houses. iTead was the only one who didn\'t give me incredible amounts of grief; just a simple \"are you sure you want to make this board that flagrantly violates all our rules\" -> \"yes\" -> \"ok boards are on their way\", hooray.

The torture boards reveal a lot of interesting things. First off, their copper plating/etching is WAY WAY WAY better than they advertise. I probably shouldn\'t post exactly how much because they don\'t want people relying on it and technically they don\'t have to keep using such a high quality process for prototype boards, but I\'ve confirmed that the actual lithographic resolution is substantially better than TWICE what they\'re advertising. Wow!

In fact, these boards are way above spec in every way except the soldermask registration (which is merely average) and silkscreen (which is digital-print, totally okay). On the stuff that matters -- the copper+drills -- they\'re giving you a much better board than they claim. I can mount 300um WLCSP (yes, that\'s 0.3mm ball-center-to-ball-center) on these boards no problem and I\'d known how good they would be I would\'ve tried for 200um!

The other board I sent them is an actual design, not a torture-board. It\'s still in fab but already I\'ve had a very positive experience; every other house I sent it to complained and raised all sorts of erroneous objections, and many of the PCB houses tried to jack up the price once they saw that my board had expensive components (even though it was 100% compliant with their design rules). iTead only raised one objection, which was actually a genuine mistake on my board (albeit a tiny one); and then accepted it on the second submission. I\'ll update this review when it comes back, but so far iTead is by far my favorite budget-prototype board house and I\'ll be using them for everything that doesn\'t need next-day turnaround.

I sent out another board; this time with the exact same four-layer GERBER package to five different board houses: iTead, smart-prototyping, shenzen2u, seeed studio, and OSH Park. Once again the iTead boards were totally outstanding quality, arrived in 11 days, electrically perfect. Very happy as usual.

Aug 26, 2014 by ACG

Ordered prototype boards for some testing. No shorts and silk was all aligned without issue.

Great Service

Jul 31, 2014 by PedroDaGr8

Went with the DHL shipping, it was BLAZINGLY fast. From Shenzen to San Diego delivered in under two days. It shipped Sunday night (Monday morning in Shenzen) and was received Tue morning. The boards felt very solid and sustained some very aggressive heating without traces lifting or being affected. Silk screen was clear and legible and the red solder mask was bright and colorful. The holes were mostly centered properly with only a few having a marginal offset (well within reasonable). I can't say anything bad about the boards (my design skills on the other hand). Will likely be purchasing from them again soon.

May 07, 2014 by Colin Mitchell

ITEAD produced a panel 10cm x 10cm 2 layer - plate through holes - white silk top screen - green solder-mask - 1.6mm board.
The panel is routed around the edges and the boards need to be individually cut and finished yourself.
The quality was superb and the delivery was 12 days to Australia. Total cost about $30.00 AUD RECOMMENDED
Ask me any questions:
Colin Mitchell

open source boards

Apr 19, 2014 by liquibyte

While the boards are very good quality, there is one disappointing thing about Itead's service. From their website:

"About the option of “Open Source And Get 2 More Additional Boards”

It is a creative service to help hobbyists to share their interesting ideas and original designs. If you select "Yes", it means that you are willing to share your works, and you will get 10 pcs of your own design and 2 boards from other guys who made the same option and also willing to share their designs."

There is no guarantee of those extra two boards even though the language of the above states that there "will be" two extra boards sent. I inquired about this from Itead and this was the response I got:

"I am sorry that the extra boards are not included.
Usually,we will fabricate one or two more boards for each gerber, if there is extra board ( s ), they will be sent to customers for free.
But it is random. "

Once again, their board service is excellent but don't expect the two free boards when you open source your design. For this fact, I can only give them 4 stars due to the misleading nature of the language.

Michael Grey (liquibyte)

4.6 5.0 8 8 I had 20 5\" x 6\" boards fabricated and assembled. ITEAD procured the components according to my BOM. They were not the cheapest but they gave me a feeling of competence. They q ITEAD Studio