DipTrace Reviews

Before you order your circuit boards, visit our PCB Price Calculator. You can enter the size, layers, and quantity of your board and get prices from 29 different PCB manufacturers instantly.

Visit the download page for DipTrace.

There are 8 reviews with an average rating of 4.5.  

To ensure high-quality reviews and ratings, we moderate every review. To write a review, you must include a valid e-mail address. We will not post your e-mail address, and we will never give it to anyone else or use it to spam you. We might send you an e-mail to verify the information in your review.

Click here to write your review.

Submit your review
* Required Field

DipTrace SKU UPC Model

Fine for small projects.

Jul 29, 2016 by John

Awesome for the price. Good library and exports to 3D (shapes to STEP files and graphics to VRML) if you work at it.
My following point of view is after one small (single layer, 8 SMD, 1 thru-hole) design:
It has a thorough and flexible pad and pad layout designer system. Schematic capture is adequate.
The user interface throughout is actually good; it has modality, but this is necessary when you need to move an individual feature independent of the other features with which it is grouped (like moving the reference designator in relation to the associated pads).

Once placed, moving the schematic signal lines or pcb layout traces is a little fiddly. The rubber-banding sometimes causes more work, but this is a minor issue with small, sparse projects.


Jun 16, 2016 by Ueli

DipTrace has many nice functions. But it\'s less than optimal for regular application because the design process is not efficient: Sometimes cumbersome, almost no application configurations. In forums you can find many basic issues not working.
E.g. No proper pick place file including the pattern for assembly:

Couldn't be happier

Sep 17, 2015 by Sia

I have used DipTrace to design small but dense mixed signal 4 layer boards for consumer electronic products since 2012. It has all the features I need, and it was really easy to learn. It's a joy to use. I can't really think of anything to complain about


Jun 01, 2015 by Erics

This is a very user friendly software. Get used to the way it's working in less than an hour.

We are currently considering the purchase of this product, but the lack of updates to fix the bugs reported on the forum make me think twice.

Great software, dead product

May 29, 2015 by Rumburack

Diptrace is a real pleasure to work with compared to other pcb cad programs. Drawing the schematic and layouting the pcb is easy.

Missing parts can be build very fast and really easy. I was surprise how clear and straight the process is, if you never understood the process in other products, try this. I love it.

But there are some drawback:
- autoplacement and autorouting. just don\'t use it, it does not work very well.
- mine didn\'t save settings like turn on/off layers, screen positions and sizes etc.
- like all pcb cad programs, the GUI is sometimes cumbersome, illogic and inconsistent, most of the time all three together.

The major drawback: the company has almost no public activity. Forums are dead, latest news is more than 5 month old, latest version is almost a year old (as today, 2015-05-29). So minor problems are not addressed (traces sometimes look wrong/connect wrong) etc etc.

My verdict: if you can live with the freeware version (2 layers, 300 pins) it is a very good choice for a beginner. But at the current state I wouldn\'t put any money into it.

Response: DipTrace Response 5/29/2015:

The product is not dead, though we really have not published any upgrades for a long time. We are currently working on high-speed routing - the task is quite complex and is taking much time. We hope to publish a beta version with differential pair routing within a few months. The forum and support are not dead though - just see the response time for this post and check the forum yourself.

Stanislav Ruev
DipTrace Team

Excellent Software

Jul 30, 2014 by PedroDaGr8

One of the best programs out there. Easy to use by a novice but powerful enough to be used by a professional. It is still under VERY active development, with features being added and bugs being fixed at least several times a year. I really find that this program works well with the way I think and design schematics and boards. The updated library manager solved one of the biggest issues with this software. Also, the 3D board preview is great for seeing how a board might look when finished.

This is also by far the easiest software to make your own component libraries. It is so easy to do that I seldom look for aftermarket libraries anymore. It's often quicker to just make the part myself.


Jul 03, 2014 by Johnathan Conley

I have 25+ years doing PC layout. Diptrace is easy to learn and powerful.
If it had "push and shove" manual routing, it would be better than Mentor Graphics PADS, at a much lower cost. Library/parts creation is a very easy.

DipTrace PCB

Jun 05, 2014 by Wayne Smith

My previous experience with PCB layout was mostly 'before computers' and accomplished using thin black sticky tape on white paper. After my 30 year 'sabbatical,' lo and behold, the white paper and sticky tape was replaced by computers and a plethora of PCB layout software. I tried most all of them...at least the FREE version. All were good, but most of them was just 'too good' for me and required a steep learning curve. Then, a year ago I stumbled across DipTrace (yep...funny name) and found that it was perfect for me. Plus, YouTube has many, many tutorials. I'm not yet an expert at PCB layout and design, but DipTrace is the only one I use!

4.5 5.0 8 8 Awesome for the price. Good library and exports to 3D (shapes to STEP files and graphics to VRML) if you work at it.My following point of view is after one small (single layer, DipTrace